52 Weeks of Cookie (Week 3): Lokal Ingredients, Classic Combination


Typographical error? Nope. Lokal is Tagalog for ‘local’.

If you haven’t noticed, I have been into supporting locally produced supplies and ingredients as much as possible. Little by little, I get to know ingredients that are actually Philippine-grown or produced. I have made a few recipes using local ingredients like the Chocolate Tablea Cake and the Sour Cream Coffee Cake and I tell you, they did not disappoint. It makes me happy that a lot of local produce are of high quality. This goes to show that Filipinos really have a lot of things to be proud of and that these products are of export quality. I just hope that they realize the significance of patronizing local products do to the economy and to us Filipinos as well.

IMG 3

IMG

I still had some chocolate tablea left from the Chocolate Tablea Cake I made and thought to myself what else I could do with the really potent chocolate. Since I am doing a 52 Weeks of Cookie challenge, I thought this was a great way to make use of this great ingredient. In my experience with the flavor profile of chocolate, I can conclude that chocolate goes well with anything! So, I went with the classic peanut butter and chocolate combination. But to mix it up a bit, I went with the ‘Go Local’ theme, using this peanut bar snack we have since we were kids. Now this, we can eat a whole pack just by ourselves! It is really addicting! Originally, we had this specific brand however, I can’t find it in the grocery store so I had to use the next best thing. It is a peanut butter-chocolate bar mix that is just amazing to the palate.

IMG 7

It is no secret that my preference when it comes to cookies is a chewy texture. So, I made use of a tried and tested recipe that never disappoint when it came to that department. What I just did was I made use of the ingredients I had instead of the add-ons it came with. Because of the bitter taste that the chocolate tablea has, I ground it to a fine powder so that it would blend well in the dough, leaving the peanut butter bars cut to chunks. It now became Tsokolate-e Tsoknut Chunk Cookies. And man did it came out as chewy as it can be! I was right, with the right foundation or base recipe, you can make a lot of variations with just this single recipe! I was satisfied! The combination of flavors was classic but the use of ingredients was unconventional but, it worked! It was a combination of sweet and salty, which is always a good thing! This is definitely going to be made again in the future. This can last for 4 to 5 days if you can, in an airtight container.

IMG 5

Tsokolate-e Tsoknut Cookies

Recipe modified from Buddy Valastro

1 cup butter
1 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 eggs
2 1/4 cups flour
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1 cup chocolate tablea, finely ground
1 to 2 cups peanut chocolate bars, roughly chopped in chunks

Preheat oven 350°F, middle rack. In a bowl, whisk cinnamon into flour. In a stand mixer with paddle: Put butter, both sugars, baking soda, salt and vanilla. Beat medium just until ingredients come together as a mass.

Add eggs, one at a time, until fully incorporated, stopping to scrape sides as needed. On low, add ground tablea chocolate then the flour/cinnamon and beat just until incorporated. Add peanut chocolate chunks and beat just until incorporated.

On 1/2 baking sheets lined with parchment, drop batter by heaping tablespoon or using ice cream scoops. Bake 13-15 minutes, turning midway until just golden brown on edges. Let cool on racks.

Leave a Reply

