52 Weeks of Cookie (Week 2): Cheesecake + Cookie? Shut up!


I was baffled. I have encountered a few fusions of desserts in the past such as brookies (brownies + cookies) and ice cream cakes but only now did I find the mother lode.

IMG 16

I am an incredible cheesecake eater, and when I say incredible, I mean incredible, but, in circumstances where I am not in a diet. I love all variations of cheesecakes but of course, the classic New York Cheesecake has always been my baby cake. Albeit the affair I have with this well-loved dessert, I have yet to man up and have the courage to bake one myself. The closest thing I made that exudes cheesecake is this recipe. Seriously! As I was mixing the dough, I can smell the graham cracker crust akin to that of the classic cheesecake. I resisted the urge of sticking my finger in the dough to have a ‘fingerful’ to taste, as you should.

IMG 2

And then we have the cookie. It is quite in your face that I really like cookies. Why will I spend 52 days in a year in baking cookies if I don’t like those handheld treats? Who in the world doesn’t like these modern day ambrosia? Even the chocolate chip?

IMG 12

If cheesecake and cookie had a baby, this will be it. All, this is New York Cheesecake Cookie. New York Cheesecake Cookie, this is All. And now that you have acquainted yourselves, it is time to make some yourself and have an intimate one-on-one with this beautiful creation. My tip is to make quite a deep whole to fill your cheesecake mixture with to have more cheesecake in the cookie. I love my cheesecake you know! Also, I’d reduce the amount of baking powder in this cookie because I found it too crumbly for my liking. I like a firmer cookies. Although soft, this cookie has the flavor to punch. If you know how good this is, well, let’s just say I made this yesterday and nothing was left today (except for the ones kept to be given away, lucky you!). These may keep for 2 to 3 days since these contain dairy which easily gets spoiled. Enjoy!

IMG 13

New York Cheesecake Cookies

Recipe from Sandra Lee

1 1/4 cups finely crushed graham crackers
1 cup flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1 stick (8 tablespoons) unsalted butter, softened
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1 egg, separated
3 ounces cream cheese, softened
1/4 cup granulated sugar
2 teaspoons lemon zest
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

In a large bowl, stir together the graham cracker crumbs, flour and baking powder. In a medium bowl, beat together the butter with the brown sugar using an electric hand mixer. Add the egg white and beat until well combined. Add to the graham cracker crumbs and blend until just combined.

In a separate medium bowl, beat together the softened cream cheese with the granulated sugar, egg yolk, lemon zest and vanilla until well combined. Set aside.

Using a small ice cream scoop, scoop out the cookie dough and place on a nonstick or parchment lined baking sheet. (If you do not have an ice scoop, then measure out the dough into scoops of about 2 tablespoons.) Flatten slightly, pressing your thumb in the center of the ball to create a small bowl shape. Repeat with the remaining dough. Spoon the cream cheese into the indents in the cookies.

Bake until the filling is barely set and the cookies are lightly golden, 12 minutes. Allow to cool 5 minutes on the baking sheets before removing them and cooling completely on a wire rack.

7 responses to “52 Weeks of Cookie (Week 2): Cheesecake + Cookie? Shut up!

  1. I hate you officially and still love you at the same time. Oh, G. *sigh* Why do you have to be so, er, elusive? See you soon! And I mean SOON.

  2. Pingback: Caramel Apple Cheesecake | Stubborn's Place·

  3. Wow. You are setting the bar pretty high right at the beginning of your cookie challange. These look amazing and I can’t wait to try them. I adore cheesecake. If I only eat 1 or 2 maybe that can be considered portion control?

Leave a Reply

