52 Weeks of Cookie (Week 1): Oatmeal. Raisin. And a whole lot of dreams.


It isn’t really that complicated, you know. Plain logic can tell you that being able to dream is not the one thing that can change your life. Sure, dreaming can be motivating but without work, dreams are just… well, dreams. I am a dreamer, but now, I became a realist, with a bit of the idealist that I really am. What can I say; I am multi-faceted when it comes to beliefs and ideas.

dream-sky from http://annawrites.com

As I have told you in the previous entry, I have succumbed to the death of the previous challenge of baking 52 cakes in a year. I know what you’re thinking. 1. What the hell am I thinking? Baking 52 cakes? What happened to my waistline? Or 2. So, have you faced your fears? Did you finish it? Well, my response would be: 1. Yes. I am baking 52 cakes in a year. Can you even bake? Ha. And for your information, my waistline is fine the way it is; and 2. Yes, I did face my fears and got the hold of baking cakes. I learned a lot actually. And no. I decided not to finish it to coincide my new 52 weeks challenge to the new year. New year, new challenge.

Clicking the About link will show you that I love to bake, to farm, to do business. Yes, it is simple. But thinking about the ways for me to achieve that would entail a lot of things to do. I have to work hard for me to grab the dreams I have. Travelling has also been a long time dream for me to do. You see how big my dreams are? And then Walt Disney said: ‘All our dreams can come true, if we have the courage to pursue them.

IMG

Now, in line with the new year, don’t deny but most if not all made their resolutions. And I am guessing most if not all has lose weight or eat healthy at the top of your list. That’s my number 1 as well so, yeah. I actually can’t do that easily because my passion is baking and baking is sugar. So I’ll be working more on the physical side of the dreaded exercise and work-out. I’ve done it before so that is not a problem. What I’ll be featuring more are ‘healthier’ desserts that would deceive our minds into thinking that this will do well for the body. Just like my first cookie for my 52 Weeks of Cookie Challenge! I have been wanting to make a really good oatmeal raisin cookie. Although I am not an avid fan of raisins in savory dishes, I don’t mind biting on some in desserts. In fact, I like the sweet tartness it brings to the table. As I did my research, I found a really good recipe which promised the most important texture that I always look for in a cookie – chewy. I really love chewy cookies. I remember walking through the imported snacks aisle of a grocery store and every time we get to the Chips Ahoy part, I’d always pick the one in the red packaging. Yes, chewy! Examining the recipe, I noticed that it is quite similar with my favorite chocolate chunk cookie recipe which is incredibly chewy itself so I decided to give it a shot. As we watched The Possession on the computer, I decided to make the cookie batter since it needed to be refrigerated before it is scooped out. After the incredibly disturbing movie, I started to bake the cookies and resisted from eating the cookies before it cools completely.

IMG1

A single bite will tell you whether it is good or bad. In this case, it did not disappoint. The cookies were incredibly chewy and ‘healthy’. You get to add fiber to your diet through dessert. What’s better than that? The sweet-salty taste and the perfect ratio of raisins per cookie are just amazing. Now I have one new recipe to add to my recipe book.

IMG2

Chewy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Adapted from PrincessDiana161 found on YouTube

1 cup butter, softened
1 cup white sugar
1 cup packed brown sugar
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1 ½ teaspoons ground cinnamon
3 cups quick cooking oats
raisins, chocolate chips or nuts (optional)

In a medium bowl, cream together white sugar, butter, and brown sugar. Beat in eggs one at a time, then stir in vanilla.

Combine flour, cinnamon, baking soda,oats,and salt. Stir into the creamed mixture. If you are using nuts or raisins, mix into dough, combining well. Cover, and chill dough for at least one hour.

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C). Roll the dough into balls, and place 2 inches apart on cookie sheets.

8 responses to “52 Weeks of Cookie (Week 1): Oatmeal. Raisin. And a whole lot of dreams.

    • Thanks! Much luck is needed for my poor waistline. I like your blog. I think I will be trying out the cranberry-plum coffee cake with the ginger macadamia streusel. Sounds good.

  1. AS you start this new challenge, which I am excited to follow, can I make a request? Whenever possible, could you indicate how long a cookie remains fresh? Some are simply best when eaten straight from the oven. Others can be wrapped, shipped, and enjoyed days (or even weeks) later. I am going to try your oatmeal cookies this weekend. Thanks!

    • Hi Wendy! Thank your for feeling the excitement with me! No problem. Although, I will just be updating the posts every now and then depending on how long the freshness of the cookies last. And I agree, there are those darn cookies that you can’t get your hands off fresh from the oven… piping hot! In my previous experience (last Christmas), I baked a lot of chocolate chunk cookies and sealed them in foil pouches. My mom ate one now, which is about more than 2 weeks old already. It is still delicious but the chewiness was gone. I guess most cookies are good for just a week, but make sure to place them in airtight containers. Let me know how your oatmeal cookies turn out! Thanks for commenting!

      Regards, Gino

    • Go ahead Michelle! Someone might enjoy these ‘healthy’ suckers. I read the mechanics of the contest. It sounds interesting! Knowing that my cookie would be served in your bed and breakfast for a year is exciting! Thank you for dropping by. I’ll reblog your post on the contest so that it can reach a lot more people with the same cookie passion.

      Gino

  2. Pingback: Oatmeal Kisses | Can't Stay Out of the Kitchen·

Leave a Reply

