52 Weeks of Cake (Week 8): Birthday Week!


What would you like to do for your birthday?

–Normally, I’d answer selfishly in a sense that I would make them do all the work. They’d cook the birthday dinner or maybe eat out, wash the dishes, do all the chores. This time around, I have decided to do the opposite. I made the choice to wake up early in the morning to do all the chores and presented myself to do the dinner.

I made a list of things that I would like to have for dinner: pizza, chicken and a cake. But here’s the thing, I want everything made from scratch! Yes. First, I chose a cake that was visually stunning however, there were too much ingredients. So I made the incredibly sinful chocolate cake I made for my brother’s birthday but this time, I made a caramel filling and made it 4 layers, and then cover the entire cake up with chocolate ganache. And wow! Just WOW.

So the menu was finally finished. For the pizza, I made the dough and the sauce, decided to make a pizza margherita loaded with cherry tomatoes, basil, and 3 types of cheese: monterey jack, mozarella and manchiego. I also made a lemon-stuffed roast chicken accompanied by a garden salad with homemade strawberry vinaigrette. And of course, my best chocolate cake. It was the perfect birthday dinner that I have ever imagined! Simple but rustic and flavorful.

(Clockwise from Top Right): Garden Salad with Strawberry Vinaigrette, Pizza Margherita, Chocolate Cake, Lemon-Stuffed Roast Chicken

2 responses to “52 Weeks of Cake (Week 8): Birthday Week!

Leave a Reply

