52 Weeks of Cake (Week 4): Crazy Weather, Crazy Dates


It has been raining crazy hard the past days here. My desire to procure ingredients for this coming 52WoC Challenge was held off by this weather and forced me to make use of what I have in the pantry and fridge. However, there are ingredients that we are out of that is incredibly crucial for me to bake a cake that I have a recipe of: BUTTER and EGGS. If only I were Julia Child, I’d have a mountain of butter on hand! I scavenged the internet for recipes with the tags ‘butterless’ and ‘eggless’ and most of the results were that of chocolate cake. I thought I’d give it a try but for me, a chocolate cake should have butter and eggs or else it wouldn’t be as decadent. Fortunately, Mr. Google stumbled upon a link that says: Eggless Dates Cake (No eggs no butter cake). Immediately I was saved! Unusual for one to have dates in stock but for me, it was just the right time. I had those dates for almost a year now in the fridge, and yes, it was kept well. So for me to finally use up the dates, it was an answered prayer. I quickly read the recipe to make sure I have all the ingredients. Check! I was ready to bake!

I made the dates puree using our blender since the food processor we bought broke. It was surprisingly easy to use given the fact that I have been used to pureeing food in the food processor. I guess I won’t be buying a food processor anymore.

Dates pureed in the blender.

The recipe was easy to follow. Although I am skeptical to how the cake would taste. I used an 8″ round cake pan instead of a rectangular pan and it filled the pan about an inch to an inch and a half. After minutes of waiting, I brought the cake out of the oven and instantly, the house smelled incredible! The cake maintained its height pre-baking however, it was springy to touch so it was perfectly cooked. As any baker would do, I waited for it to cool before doing anything else to it.

Dates Cake

The recipe did not include any frosting because I really don’t know what would go well with dates when it comes to frostings since anything might overpower the date taste of the cake. I decided to lightly dust the top with powdered sugar with cinnamon powder.

Date Cake dusted with Cinnamon Powdered Sugar

The cake was delicious! It was unexpected. It was moist, comparably like a banana cake but using dates. To make the cake firmer, we decided to chill the cake in the fridge overnight. The following day, it was a revelation! It tastes even better refrigerated! It was still moist and tender. And the taste, it developed further. It really doesn’t need any frosting (although my mom insists of frosting it with whipped cream, which is not a bad idea, where I’ll be adding a tad bit of cinnamon in the future). This recipe is one for the books! A definite keeper!

Slice of the Date Cake

Dates Cake (Eggless and Butterless)

Adapted from Aayi’s Recipes found in Sharmis Passions

18 dates(Khajoor) — I used 36 pieces for a more dates-y taste
3/4 cup milk
3/4 cup sugar
1 cup all purpose flour
1/2 cup oil
1 tea spn baking soda
1 tbl spn cashews, walnuts(optional) — I used walnuts

Soak dates with little milk and set aside to make it soft. In a mixing bowl, add sugar, milk and oil, stir until sugar completey dissolves. Keep aside. Sift flour with baking soda twice so that baking soda is evenly distributed and keep aside.

Grind the dates to a fine paste. Add the dates paste to milk sugar mixture and mix well. Now add flour and mix well so the flour blends well with the dates mixture.

Add the chopped walnuts and give a quick stir. Preheat oven at 350 F(176 deg C) for 10mins. Meanwhile grease the pan with oil and little flour then add the prepared batter.

Bake the cake at 176 deg C for 35-40mins(Check after 30mins then proceed accordingly). Check by inserting a knife or fork at the center of the cake, if it comes out clean then your cake is done. Cool down the cake completely on a wirerack and then cut into slices.

Check out Sharmis Passions or Aayi’s Recipes for their tips and tricks in making this delicious cake! You will definitely enjoy this!

Leave a Reply

