The Constant Evolution of the Chocolate Chip Cookie


Growing up as a child, I never really had a home-baked cookie or anything home-baked since my mom was more of a savory chef than a dessert kind of cook. Don’t get me wrong, my mother is an incredibly awesome cook! My grandmother on the other hand was the baker however, I never got the chance to meet her since she died at a young age. So unfortunately, I grew up eating the manufactured, foil-packed cookies. For me, I considered those as incredibly delicious especially the chunky chewy ones. I actually enjoyed them until I got to hold a whisk, an oven and a few other ingredients. Yes, cookies were the first baked goods that I was able to take out from the oven. Even the thought of remembering that incident is nostalgic for me since that marked the start of my love affair with baking.

The chocolate chip cookie dough which I think is great as it is.

Naturally, a baker should always have a number of recipes that is constant in their repertoire such as brownies and of course, the chocolate chip cookie. Fortunately, there are a lot of ways to make chocochip cookies however, there are only quite a few that elevates from the others. Some even got famous because of this simple delight and trust me, I searched and tried their recipes, it did not work out. I have tried those recipes with celebrity names attached to them but still, it did not work out. Finally, after a lot of recipes that I have tried, I finally found one recipe that will surely be part of my own repertoire that I will be making for my kids.

The chocolate chip cookie that I like should be crisp on the outside but chewy in the inside. So definitely, this recipe got this on the line. It was perfect! Even my mom thinks this is better than C*** A***! and I agree. I made a few tweaks and added some ingredients but this was greatly adapted from Buddy Valastro’s (from Carlo’s Bakery in Hoboken and Cake Boss) Chocolate Chip Cookie recipe so props for him! I will be blogging about him in the future.

And while a lot of people will be enjoying themselves in the Maroon 5 concert tonight, I will be sticking my hands in this cookie jar and stuff myself with these caloric chocolate chip cookies!

The Classic Chocolate Chip Cookie

For a nostalgic childhood treat, make yourselves some of these wonderfully delicious chewy chocolate chip cookies! This is definitely worth making for yourself, or for your family and friends.

Leave a Reply

