52 Weeks of Cake (Week 3): A Cake for Celebrations


The birthday boy with his birthday cake!

Time really flies. It is already mid September and a lot of supermarkets have started to play Christmas tunes. But before the most awaited time of the year approaches, there are a few more stops to go. Yesterday was my youngest brother’s birthday and the time of the week to make my 52 Weeks of Cake Challenge. So what better way to metaphorically kill two birds with one stone than to make a birthday cake for my brother and for my 52 WoC Challenge!

I have decided to bake a cake that Heny Sison taught us in a class I enrolled in since that was a hit with my mom and of course, the birthday boy. And, sure enough, I was able to successfully bake the cake myself from the layers to the fudge. It was a chocolate cake with chocolate fudge frosting. It was the moistest and chocolatiest thing ever! And the cake itself was not tooth-achingly sweet. This is definitely a keeper for me! I am sure I will be making more of these in the future. One thing I learned though is too use the best quality ingredients if you want a quality product. Do not substitute. I baked the best cake yet that I baked because of the ingredients I used. And if you are asking to have slice, everything’s gone! Even my aunts asked for some slices to take home. It was that good! This is definitely the first of many more birthday cakes to come. Bring it on!

The Chocolate Cake with Chocolate Fudge Frosting: Before

The Chocolate Cake with Chocolate Fudge Frosting: After

Nothing beats a perfectly baked chocolate cake!

Next time, I may be giving you a glimpse of what our pantry holds that helps me make these wonderful bakes!

Leave a Reply

