Heny Sison and a Bunch of Cakes


As I wandered off into the cake road, I stumbled upon someone who I consider my local baking hero. Yes. I finally met her. Chef Heny Sison.

Chef Heny Sison, a renowned cake decorator

She is the owner of the Heny Sison Culinary School where I took a course on pâte à choux pastries with Chef Estagle. I was hoping to meet her then but she was out. Fortunately, for this class that I took (Basic Cakes and Icings for Beginners), she was our instructor. I was so honored and star-struck when I saw her. She is the Sylvia Reynoso or Nora Diaz of baking in the Philippines or the Rose Levy Beranbaum of the Philippines. She is that good. She is a very generous teacher when it comes to the tips and tricks of techniques and ingredients to use. And she teaches well.

We are about twenty students in this 4-and-a-half hour class where she taught us to make 5 different cakes and icings. I learned a lot about the different icings I can make to frost my cakes, and also the different cake bases that I could choose from in making my cakes. But the most important things I learned were the techniques which can’t be taught by books.

Left: Lemon Chiffon Cake with Boiled Icing
Top Right: Butter Cake with Butter Icing
Bottom Right: Mocha Chiffon Cake with No-Melt Butter Icing

Vanilla Genoise with Whipped Cream Frosting

The family and my favorite: Chocolate Cake with Fudge Frosting

I can say that I am slowly facing my fears in baking cakes. Learning to make one and actually being able to make one are huge steps I was able to make. I look forward to my other cake creations!

Leave a Reply

