The Sun will come out, tomorrow.


Weather forecasters predict that the typhoon will be leaving the country today, and that tomorrow will be as clear as almond extract. Classes are suspended. (Not that I am affect and all, refer to this post to know why.) And I am unaffected. I still had to drive my younger brother to school (their school is unaffected by floods; and by the 2012 State of the Nation Address), which was expected having spent a good 10 years in the same institution for my basic and secondary education. As I have said in my previous post, it has been raining pretty much the entire day for the past week. The weather was horrible. In anticipation, I did not make any plans to do for today just like what students were hoping to (praying for suspension of classes). Another reason why classes were suspended, for some parts.

I decided to make today my bake day… again! Since you know, one can’t do much in a rainy day. I took out my written recipes and chose to do a simple yet classic brownie. Yup. Simple. Classic. The great thing was that I had all the ingredients on hand. I didn’t have to go out to grab some from the grocery, fighting the rain, and the traffic. But, contrary to what most people prepared for, Mr. Sun decided to come out and play! Yay! I don’t know about you but I think Mr. Sun knew about my brownie super plan and decided to stop crying and let the smell of newly baked brownies waft in the air. My little urban garden was incredibly happy to once again feel the warm rays of the sun touch their leaves. The amaryllis started to grow as well as my tomato seedlings. (Yes, I garden as well.)

I was able to finish the brownies before lunch. It was easy. I hand-mixed everything. It was perfectly baked. And of course, as standard operating procedure, I let it cool before cutting. The brownies were, as promised, fudgy. It was not terribly sweet. It was just the right sweetness for me. Surprisingly enough, no salt was required in the recipe – knowing that salt enhances the sweet flavor.

So here I am, enjoying my fudgy brownie, deciding whether to continue watching the President’s State of the Nation Address or find something else. And I have decided to become a good citizen of the Philippines.

Timeless Brownies

Brownies

I am terribly sorry. I cannot remember where I got this recipe. Please do enlighten me if you know.

Melt together 90g butter and 8oz bitter or semi-sweet chocolate. Add to it 150g sugar and 1t vanilla. Add two eggs, adding it one at a time, followed by 32g flour until batter is smooth and glossy. Mix the batter vigorously for 1 FULL MINUTE. Add 1C of nuts if desired.

Bake in an 8×8 pan at 350 degrees Fahrenheit  for about 30 minutes.

Let it cool before cutting. Resist the temptation. Please.

I am still looking for better brownie recipes. Care to share yours? Comment below. Or e-mail me.
Leave a Reply

